PDA

View Full Version : Coax cable question

ak.89
07-31-2012, 06:32 PM
Hi I want to make a 3rd receiver connection. I am going to be buying a coax cable and this is my first time doing a receiver setup my self. So what kind of coax cable i should buy. the distance from switch to receiver will be under 75 feet. Also how can i make a coax cable connecter connection? can i do it without special tools. Thanks guys

FTA
07-31-2012, 06:37 PM
just go buy a pre made length of cable at 100 or so feet RG6 is what you want radio shack etc will have it

fonger
07-31-2012, 06:39 PM
RG6 coax cable with compression heads
http://www.homehardware.ca/products/300/35732161.jpg

ak.89
07-31-2012, 07:01 PM
hi i want to get ready mate but i don't want to leave extra wiring on the roof or within house thats why i am going to buy the tool for stripping the cable and compressing the connectors. Also how...

ignored ant
07-31-2012, 07:10 PM
Get a "Solid Copper Core" Coax Cable

ak.89
07-31-2012, 07:20 PM
RG6 coax cable with compression heads
http://www.homehardware.ca/products/300/35732161.jpg

so i don't need a compression tool for these connecters? how will they secure onto the cable if i don't press them with the tool .thanks

Terryl
07-31-2012, 07:21 PM
What is the outside of your house made of? <br />
<br />
If it's wood then a standard bell drill bit will work, but if there is insulation between the walls you have to be careful not to snag it and bunch it up...

dishuser
07-31-2012, 07:22 PM
so i don't need a compression tool for these connecters? how will they secure onto the cable if i don't press them with the tool .thanks
you need a tool
as for "hole" make it size of cable and put connector on after feeding cable

ak.89
07-31-2012, 07:33 PM
ok how is this for the cable, should i buy something else or this will be good enough?

hxxp://www.ebay.ca/itm/100-FT-RG-6-SATELLITE-COAX-CABLE-RG6-COAXIAL-CONNECTOR-/320690343141?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item4aaaa24ce5