PDA

View Full Version : New setup suggestions

music5
04-11-2014, 09:20 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am totally new to this FTA stuff. I have read a lots about FTA set up but I am still not sure about required equipment. There are so many different kind of receivers that one could buy which makes harder for newbie to pick one.

For me this set up is all for hobby and learning purposes so not really into high end and expensive stuff.

So if any of you can answer few questions for me then that will greatly appreciated:

1. What should be the minimum cost of any simple setup?

2. What kind of receiver do I need?

3. Since I need some sort of internet connection for IKS or similar services, do any of the receiver has wireless built into them or do they come with built-in ethernet?

4. Eliptical or circular dish with what kind of LNBs?

Thanks,

whoknows
04-11-2014, 10:06 PM
You have to decide whether you want FTA which does not require internet connection or IKS which does. IKS is used to scoop provider encrypted channels.
Then you have to decide whether you want SD and HD channels or just SD. Knowing that will help you decide what box you want and prices are posted on most sites
We don't know what part of the globe you live so you have to decide on a dish and using dish pointer....c for information on dish size and satellites of interest.
As far as ln b, you can use linear for fta, or legacy. Legacy or dish pro if you are going with iks.
I've hit on a few of your questions briefly but there are "forums" on this site where all of you questions have already been answered. You just have to go to them. good luck

Anubis
04-12-2014, 12:21 AM
Not trying to be smart here but I will follow up later in this post.

1- Free
2- One that accommodates what your needs are.
3- Yes
4- See #2.

1- Receiver-