PDA

View Full Version : power winder

power winder
11-09-2010, 09:14 PM
hi guys i am new to this, so please be patient, i have 2 pizza dishes with dual lnbs, my switch is an emp centauri 5/4, mounted inside and i have ran cables from the dishes underground,its total lenth is just under a hundred feet, this system worked for a couple of years until the great sat change, i have purchased a w/f, had my reciever programmed and it works in 2 peoples homes, but not mine, any suggestions?, i was told to do away with the emp and use disceq swiches instead, i dont want to do this because i want to use 4 recievers not 2 ,
help

zoogor
11-09-2010, 09:27 PM
well, first thing is to make sure your settings are correct. then, if you have 0 sig then there is a problem between the dish and the receiver(s). if its just a quality issue then the dish(s)
arnt properly aligned. emp is the best switch out there (IMO) but anything can happen.

Terryl
11-09-2010, 10:58 PM
You ran 4 coaxes 100 feet from an inside mounted switch?
What type of coax did you use?

RG-6 with a copper coated steel center conductor?

RG-6 quad with the same type of center conductor?

Or the good stuff, RG-6 quad with a pure copper center conductor?

If it’s the cheap stuff then you could have a voltage drop problem with the copper plated steel conductor, the new receiver may be having a problem trying to run all the LNB’s and the switch at the same time due to the voltage drop, is there a setting on the receiver to boost the LNB voltage? On my Coolsat 8000 I can compensate for the voltage drop by setting the power to 15/19 volts DC to the LNB.

Also you mentioned that you ran the coax underground, did you run it inside of conduit?
If so what type of conduit did you use, PVC or EMT?

WillDekkard
11-10-2010, 05:59 AM