PDA

View Full Version : Furnace fan won't shut off

rrunner
02-25-2011, 11:15 PM
Have a 7 year old oil furnace and last month the fan came on and won't shut off
any ideas out there I have no knowledge of a furnace. Heating with wood this winter so I still have heat. I have also tried shutting off the fan button on the furnace, NO GO.

Thanks to everyone who replied will check out the suggestions, some I did not think about..

torpainter
02-25-2011, 11:17 PM
what kind of thermosat control do you have?

StanW
02-25-2011, 11:20 PM
An oil furnace should have a 2 position fan switch - on position and auto ( receives a signal from the thermostat/furnace/heat sensor) . I would check that first.

Terryl
02-25-2011, 11:24 PM
Sounds like a stuck relay on the controller board, you need to get a furnace guy to look at it in my opinion.

This happen to my sister, her heater came on when she was out of town, I went over to check on things and almost burnt my hand on the door knob, the walls were so hot by the furnace you couldn't touch them, all the wax candles had melted.

Furnace's should be looked at at (and cleaned) least once a year by a pro.

StanW
02-25-2011, 11:25 PM
... sounds like just the fan is running :noidea:

rrunner
02-25-2011, 11:26 PM
It is an old honeywell.

rrunner
02-25-2011, 11:26 PM
yes just the fan is running not the heat.

StanW
02-25-2011, 11:27 PM
... so is just about every 2nd thermostat on older oil furnaces .lol

rrunner
02-25-2011, 11:28 PM
I have 2 settings on the thermostat and also 2 position on the furnace tried both and still won't shut off. I shut off the main switch(like a light switch) and it shut the fan off.

StanW
02-25-2011, 11:32 PM
There is a thermal switch somewhere on the furnace ( it will keep the fan on when a certain temperature is surpassed) - if it is burned it will force the fan to stay on . It is easy to verify with an ohm meter .

rrunner
02-25-2011, 11:34 PM
Wow great information from everyone. thanks

Terryl