PDA

View Full Version : Nikon or Canon

kamyk
12-20-2009, 02:13 AM
Fotography is my hobby and I have been using Nikons SLRs and DSLRs for the last 15 years. Do not know a lot about Canon and have a chance to buy for little a new Canon Eos 5D. For me that would mean total switch to Canon(lenses, flash etc.) can't afford both. Does anyone have experience using both names and how they compare? Is it worth to switch? BTW I am using Nikon D700. I know the specs of many cameras but would like to know how is it in real life, how they compare.

scruffy
01-05-2010, 01:35 PM
what does the SLR mean in the camera world as i'm starting to get into takeing more photos and would like to know the difference

dan9999
01-05-2010, 01:38 PM
what does the SLR mean in the camera world as i'm starting to get into takeing more photos and would like to know the difference

SLR = Single Lens Reflex

From Wikipedia:
A digital single-lens reflex camera (digital SLR or DSLR) is a digital camera that uses a mechanical mirror system and pentaprism to direct light from the lens to an optical viewfinder on the back of the camera.

The basic operation of a DSLR is as follows: for viewing purposes, the mirror reflects the light coming through the attached lens upwards at a 90 degree angle. It is then reflected twice by the pentaprism, rectifying it for the photographer's eye. During exposure, the mirror assembly swings upward, the aperture narrows (if stopped down, or set smaller than wide open), and a shutter opens, allowing the lens to project light onto the image sensor. A second shutter then covers the sensor, ending the exposure, and the mirror lowers while the shutter resets. The period that the mirror is flipped up is referred to as "viewfinder blackout". A fast-acting mirror and shutter is preferred so as to not delay an action photo.

All of this happens automatically over a period of milliseconds, with cameras designed to do this 3–10 times a second.