Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: possible glimmer of hope for KBox HD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default possible glimmer of hope for KBox HD

    I have been able to load Ilink 9600 files to the KBox HD using the Freesat to Ilink9600 conversion files and a null cable. The KBox HD menu now looks like the Ilinks. The problem I am having now is the receiver will not pick up an ip address. Anyone out there have one of these KBox HD receivers to play with?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    nope, can't get it working. Need more knowledge than I have to resolve the network connection issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4
    Satfix Buxs
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    have u tried the static ip address?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to n2fusion For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n2fusion View Post
    have u tried the static ip address?
    yes, static ip locks the receiver up.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    57
    Satfix Buxs
    -2,661
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 74x in 33 Posts
    Items Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-07-2012, 10:35 PM from hope32
Message: enjoy !!!

    Default

    I have one of these receivers in storage, I'll dig it out over the weekend.
    Would be nice to breath some life into it

    -------------------------------
    flicka flicka flicka blam pow

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to plushsat For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plushsat View Post
    I have one of these receivers in storage, I'll dig it out over the weekend.
    Would be nice to breath some life into it
    The more people that try to get these these receivers working the more likely someone will find the fix. They are nice boxes. I have tried transferring data from a working ILink 9600 to the KBox, the transfer completes but still won't grab an ip address.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    401
    Satfix Buxs
    2,557
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 62x in 49 Posts

    Default

    I agree, the picture is really nice. Hope somebody figures out a way to bring it back to life.
    Last edited by danny; 01-25-2013 at 04:38 PM.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to danny For This Useful Post:


  11. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,365
    Satfix Buxs
    7,987
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1,523x in 764 Posts

    Default

    Before ET site went away, I helped a guy looking at Freesat to Ilink convert issue--would the info developed for that help you guys? It was not much info as the compression used in Freesat/Ilink/Kbox/Topsat files for HD boxes all seem the same and I did not recognize the compression scheme. Still learned a little about the header info and that there does seem to be a common theme going on between the boxes. My best guess was that to get into the code someone would have to pull the flash chip and get the boot code out to get the compression code.

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jvvh5897 For This Useful Post:


  13. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    what would help is some information on the Network Protocol that the receivers use. Is it coded into each file or is written to a different chip. Does it get re-written each time a file is loaded.

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    401
    Satfix Buxs
    2,557
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 62x in 49 Posts

    Default

    Any fix or progress on the K2HD conversion file?

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    57
    Satfix Buxs
    -2,661
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 74x in 33 Posts
    Items Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-07-2012, 10:35 PM from hope32
Message: enjoy !!!

    Default

    Finally found my K2HD in the storage locker so I'll be good to help play/test with this conversion soon.
    Any progress with the network issue?

    -------------------------------
    flicka flicka flicka blam pow

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    no progress. Still have 2 KBox HD receivers that will convert over but nothing I have tried makes them grab an IP address.

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Satfix Buxs
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post

    Default

    have you tried turning off DHCP in receiver menu, specify a static IP / gateway /mask / dns server
    ... AND then ...
    hook it up to your pc's network port, an on the PC run a network analyzer prog (ie: ethereal) to capture everything on the network card... and see what kind of network packets this box is trying to send out if anything

    Also if it does IKS (or if it's supposed to..) via normal newcamd put it in the stream on a channel and see what comes out on the network if anything.

  18. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    658
    Satfix Buxs
    1,664,939
    Thanks
    135
    Thanked 356x in 237 Posts
    Items Dish
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassQuad
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrassboat
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassYacht
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassVintage truck
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCamaro
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassCheetos
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from BluegrassTree
Gift received at 02-15-2020, 01:00 AM from Bluegrass

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tintino View Post
    have you tried turning off DHCP in receiver menu, specify a static IP / gateway /mask / dns server
    ... AND then ...
    hook it up to your pc's network port, an on the PC run a network analyzer prog (ie: ethereal) to capture everything on the network card... and see what kind of network packets this box is trying to send out if anything

    Also if it does IKS (or if it's supposed to..) via normal newcamd put it in the stream on a channel and see what comes out on the network if anything.
    Tried putting in the info manually, locks the receiver up. Tried network Analyzer Wireshark to see if it called out to a certain IP like NFusion does in case NO1 could be used, it didn't seem to do anything. Is it worth trying Ethereal instead of Wireshark?
    Last edited by riverman; 02-19-2013 at 03:15 PM.

  19. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    401
    Satfix Buxs
    2,557
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 62x in 49 Posts

    Default

    Any luck with this thing going.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •