Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Switches going out on a 300

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Satfix Buxs
    101
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default Switches going out on a 300

    Has anyone had any issues with their 300 blowing switches? I'm replacing switches almost daily, I just put a brand new pansat premium, no signal....

    Any suggestions? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    518
    Satfix Buxs
    5,787
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 347x in 211 Posts

    Default

    You must be using crap switches if you have to replace them daily. It's either that or you're not unplugging your receiver before disconnecting the satellite cable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Satfix Buxs
    101
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply Ban.
    Well, at this point Im using older switches, but Ive used an EMP, which are one of the best out there.
    Also, I turn off the LNB power, then using the remote to off, then the back switch, then unplug the box, before I even go back up to disconnect. Ive been in the game since cards, but this is some weird sh*t!! It has to be my 300 at this point.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9,076
    Satfix Buxs
    4,419,524
    Thanks
    3,728
    Thanked 8,898x in 3,299 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    What type of LNB's you using?

    The receiver should not be able to supply enough DC voltage to wipe out a switch or switches, except when disconnecting them with the power on, a possible DC surge could pop a switch, but not if they are connected into the system.

    However if the power supply in the reciver has a problem it could be supping too much AC voltage to the switch, this would FUBAR a switch in a few hours to days, test the voltage at the LNB input "F" connector with a DVM set to measure AC voltage, it should be under 100 mV AC, anything more then that and the power supply is in question.

    Another possibility is a ground loop problem, one too many grounds at a distance from each other, or no ground at all.
    Last edited by Terryl; 01-10-2014 at 12:54 AM.
    ♫♫♫ I’m a lumberjack and I’m OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Head First Into a Wine Barrel
    Posts
    776
    Satfix Buxs
    111
    Thanks
    659
    Thanked 881x in 382 Posts
    Items CanadaDishA Beer

    Default

    I'm gonna guess bad ground or no ground at all, also, is the switch in a really wet environment ?....
    Totally unplug your receiver when changing out switch's.. I had to learn the hard way myself

    good luck....

    check those grounds..
    Without Rythem, You've Got No Rhyme

    Returning Member..
    Glad To Be Back SATFIX...

    Dont' Forget to Hit Thanks,.... Then The Potty...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    28
    Satfix Buxs
    101
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default

    Yep, it was the ground.

    Thanks Guys!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Head First Into a Wine Barrel
    Posts
    776
    Satfix Buxs
    111
    Thanks
    659
    Thanked 881x in 382 Posts
    Items CanadaDishA Beer

    Default

    glad to hear it, all is working well now???
    Without Rythem, You've Got No Rhyme

    Returning Member..
    Glad To Be Back SATFIX...

    Dont' Forget to Hit Thanks,.... Then The Potty...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    17,406
    Satfix Buxs
    2,576,725,104,703
    Thanks
    26,198
    Thanked 32,088x in 11,190 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by swanner View Post
    I'm gonna guess bad ground or no ground at all, also, is the switch in a really wet environment ?....
    Totally unplug your receiver when changing out switch's.. I had to learn the hard way myself

    good luck....

    check those grounds..
    read post #3

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    “Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •