Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dell Inspiron 640m Dual Boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    46
    Satfix Buxs
    296
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 33x in 13 Posts

    Default Dell Inspiron 640m Dual Boot

    I was given a computer many years ago. It was a Dell INspiron 640m. It came with windows XP. No upgrades have been done to the computer hardware. The software however my friend got the computer from someone who closed their business. He put Linux on it so you can boot in either windows our linux.

    I was told that these are great computers to use as a chromebook.

    I would like to maybe upgrade the memory and upgrade to windows 7 and have a dual boot mode with google chrome as the other boot.

    Has anyone done this before?

    Just curious on how hard it would be to do. I have watched some youtube videos to no avail.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    142
    Satfix Buxs
    661
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 71x in 37 Posts

    Default

    It is extreamly hard. Any comp from Dell or HP has a hidden Partition on HD allowing to restore operating system. It have also special instructions in the Bios, to boot to such partition if normal partition is corrupted or to be modified.
    Fastest way is take out HD to a standard comp, and use Hiren BOOT to delete all partition on that HD. And possibly partially install win XP first and linuks later on separate partitions. Then mount back HD in the dell or HP comp, and finish instalations.
    I avoided using Dell and HP and IBM comps, best way is to use standard comps with standard Bios, it allows to mount anything possible without any hassle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7,907
    Satfix Buxs
    272,697
    Thanks
    2,612
    Thanked 5,998x in 2,434 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Some older computer systems can't be upgraded to W7, if it was built for XP and does not say compatible with windows Vista, then forget it, the W7 install will/may fail.

    This because it can't detect a usable hard drive, to see if this is the case download the windows 7 upgrade advisor to see if the system can support the upgrade.

    All this because the newer W7 OS can't load or detect the old motherboard drivers for the SATA or IDE hard dive.

    I have tried this many times on older systems, just left them on XP.

    Now if it's Vista compatible then you may be OK.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:

    Ric

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    60
    Satfix Buxs
    1,556
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 46x in 30 Posts

    Default

    teryl is correct ..... if its old school & has no " bios " update it will cost you more money trying to track down old memory ... OLD Vs New is the same price for stalking purposes ....

    best way is to check out the computer itself .... it will have a product # ..... check to see if win7 was ever installed .. put the same copy in it ..... eg: windows 7 home 32 bit ....... vs what you have windows 7 ultimate ..


    & i know i am mis-spelling ch!t on purpose because i can & i don't care..... i did win the B 10 years in a row ..... LoL ;D ..

    & it was me who had 6 degree's under there belt when they were 16 ..... it wasn't you ..... have a nice F ing day !

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    8,101
    Satfix Buxs
    1,107,687,153,280
    Thanks
    2,047
    Thanked 9,585x in 4,573 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Some older computer systems can't be upgraded to W7, if it was built for XP and does not say compatible with windows Vista, then forget it, the W7 install will/may fail.

    This because it can't detect a usable hard drive, to see if this is the case download the windows 7 upgrade advisor to see if the system can support the upgrade.

    All this because the newer W7 OS can't load or detect the old motherboard drivers for the SATA or IDE hard dive.

    I have tried this many times on older systems, just left them on XP.

    Now if it's Vista compatible then you may be OK.
    it came with xp and then later vista
    I use mine with linux mint

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    ďAlways do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.Ē

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dishuser For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7,907
    Satfix Buxs
    272,697
    Thanks
    2,612
    Thanked 5,998x in 2,434 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    If it was upgrade-able to Vista then it should work with W7, the only problem ones I ran into were ones that came out a few years before Vista came to being.

    Take a look at the Dell web site to see if there any BIOS and MB updates for W7, if so your in luck.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:

    Ric

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7,907
    Satfix Buxs
    272,697
    Thanks
    2,612
    Thanked 5,998x in 2,434 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    This may help..

    Code:
    https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/04/product-support/product/inspiron-640m/drivers
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •