Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 19 of 19

Thread: Dreamlink T5 Problem with power to LNB

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7,882
    Satfix Buxs
    264,653
    Thanks
    2,588
    Thanked 5,950x in 2,418 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    And some more info....You cant measure the DC voltage or current out to the LNB without loosing signals, attaching a DVM or current meter without a very special interface with shut down the system, and you may get a false reading.

    You may get a DC voltage reading at the end of the coax, or at the LNB input on the receiver, but this is an UN-loaded condition, and will give incorrect readings, all it will tell you is that there is not (or is) a DC short somewhere in the system.

    I use a highly modified receiver to do this, this measure's the active system voltage and DC current draw of the LNB(s).
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    117
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 7x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Absolutely right Terryl. I'd invite doubters to pull the cover and feel the heat sinks on the processor and turbo module.
    Hot! Once you inject the correct voltage into the lnb, a vast decrease in temp on the heat sinks.
    FTA lnb's are fairly power frugal. DN's, hogs!
    The T5 has a header (pair of pins) to allow you to use a small fan inside. I use a repurposed 386 processor fan.
    Geeky ones like me. For my LB8000 I traced the display and found the pin for illumination. Used a small solid state relay to power an internal fan which switched on when the receiver is on.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Arlo For This Useful Post:


  4. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7,882
    Satfix Buxs
    264,653
    Thanks
    2,588
    Thanked 5,950x in 2,418 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    My audio receiver has a switched AC plug, I use that to power a 120 to 12 volt 5 amp power supply, this runs all the fans (8 total for now) in the stereo cabinet, I build my own cabinets, so this one was designed with air flow, to the HDTV and all the audio, Blue ray and other receivers.

    Takes cold air in from the bottom and blows it out the top, all fans are rated under 19 dBA with a very high air flow, can't hear them at all when the stereo or TV is on.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  5. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    117
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 7x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    My audio receiver has a switched AC plug, I use that to power a 120 to 12 volt 5 amp power supply, this runs all the fans (8 total for now) in the stereo cabinet, I build my own cabinets, so this one was designed with air flow, to the HDTV and all the audio, Blue ray and other receivers.

    Takes cold air in from the bottom and blows it out the top, all fans are rated under 19 dBA with a very high air flow, can't hear them at all when the stereo or TV is on.
    Glad we're on the right page. Same thing I have. I was lucky to find a couple of 4 inch fans with temp. sensors. Pretty slick.
    Low volumes on my HT rig, whisper quiet. Crank it up to piss off the neighbors (oh wait...i live on 80 acres) and they ramp up nicely.
    Cool lets electronics live.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •