Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Saving Firmware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33
    Satfix Buxs
    45
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9x in 2 Posts

    Default Saving Firmware

    Is there a way to save the firmware of the SonicView 8000 HD? I updated the TPs and when i do a factory reset (to scan for channels again) I don't want to have to edit the TPS again. Do i have to Jtag it to do this? Is there a thread here for that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    8,092
    Satfix Buxs
    1,107,687,153,266
    Thanks
    2,045
    Thanked 9,582x in 4,572 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    save it to usb

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    “Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33
    Satfix Buxs
    45
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9x in 2 Posts

    Default

    How? I don't see that option in USB Storage
    There's upload channel and function>None, New folder, Delete, Rename & Move.
    There's Ok >S/W Update, New Folder, Delete, Rename & Move
    I want to create a bin file with the TPs I want so I can flash it to the receiver so that when I do a factory reset it will keep those TPs. How do i do that?
    Last edited by PRPirate; 11-04-2018 at 06:50 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    178
    Satfix Buxs
    10,356
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 160x in 97 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PRPirate View Post
    How? I don't see that option in USB Storage
    There's upload channel and function>None, New folder, Delete, Rename & Move.
    There's Ok >S/W Update, New Folder, Delete, Rename & Move
    I want to create a bin file with the TPs I want so I can flash it to the receiver so that when I do a factory reset it will keep those TPs. How do i do that?
    in USB Storage (There's upload/download channel function RED BUTTON) to usb stick/flash drive

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33
    Satfix Buxs
    45
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9x in 2 Posts

    Default

    O.k. I see what you mean. I'm creating a bin file with the updated TPs and no channels. After I do a factory reset I do a S/W Update with the bin file. I guess that's fine. I really wanted to have it already set when I do a factory reset. You know, already embedded in the factory default.
    I saw on youtube someone doing a jtag on a sonicview 8000. What is the purpose of that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    8,092
    Satfix Buxs
    1,107,687,153,266
    Thanks
    2,045
    Thanked 9,582x in 4,572 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PRPirate View Post
    O.k. I see what you mean. I'm creating a bin file with the updated TPs and no channels. After I do a factory reset I do a S/W Update with the bin file. I guess that's fine. I really wanted to have it already set when I do a factory reset. You know, already embedded in the factory default.
    I saw on youtube someone doing a jtag on a sonicview 8000. What is the purpose of that?
    no
    you can save channels as well
    if you couldn't then explain files section

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    “Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33
    Satfix Buxs
    45
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9x in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dishuser View Post
    no
    you can save channels as well
    if you couldn't then explain files section
    No, i understand I can save the channels as well. The reason for doing this whole thing is to delete all the channels and do a fresh scan. I was doing a factory reset to do this but everytime i did that I have to delete unwanted TPs (ie. Adult TP 12253 on 110). Anyway, I'm good now. Instead of factory reset, I'll flash this bin with the TPs I want (and no channels) and do a fresh scan AND won't have to bother with the other settings that go back to default. Thanks for all of the replies.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •