Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: JB 200 Module Failure

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    9,656
    Satfix Buxs
    1,235,811,507,249
    Thanks
    3,291
    Thanked 11,593x in 5,533 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willucome2014 View Post
    As one of the I switched to iptv so far less glitching, let's not forget the heavy load on your internet connection, and if there isn't a heavy load (Netflix says 3.5 gb per hour HD, 7- 8 gb per hour of video watched 4k).

    With amatuer "iptv " you're getting a cheap quality box to watch a signal that objectively is at best DVD quality and at worst unwatchable. Even if the osd and box seller or even the player's say HD or 4k. They cannot change the streams I monitored and thier sd quality size.

    They can't hide the fact that those true HD qualities require a certain amount of bandwidth. Unless you apply "magical thinking " and wish to believe that some guy in his basement with amateur equipment, can do a better job at encoding hd and 4k at 1/4 the bandwidth than Netflix and Amazon Prime tv, even hulu. Who are always looking to reduce bandwidth costs, while maintaining the proper quality for HD and 4k.

    Clearly if that was possible that person would be a overnight billionaire, and not making cheapo internet streams

    Satellite via Jynxbox:

    This takes little to no load on your internet, as most of us know and the picture is what it says it is. And not being sent via the internet there is zero concern of receiving a "notice"

    I know this because I do have a "iptv" box just to test. I put on a proper same channel on both boxes , switched via hdmi switcher one to the other , the quality on satellite hd was well 1080 HD. On the other it was watchable looked almost as good as we, but only sometimes, and face smudgieness and occasional blackouts were a factor. I could live with it but only if I "had" to which we do not . Neither should we.

    What's my point? The Latin forums have figured out how to permanently fix the jb200 tuners, they've hardware modded 2 tiny pcb on the back of jb200 to send more current down the line, less stress on the caps that fry out, and better switching. It's a hardware mod . I posted pics on this site.

    Instead of buying new jb200 and worrying about supply just to get perfect satellite quality and dolby digital sound.

    Why don't we (whoever understands espaneol, I don't ) all work together and resolve this once and for all?
    There has to be enough fta people that want true satellite hd direct from the source not retransmitted for the 3rd time. Yes?


    Then next issue is to get dual tuner and recording on USB working properly . Currently it glitches in recording onto thumb drives . Have not tried USB hard drive. But to record properly we need the dual tuner firmware working.

    Has anyone tried the official clone killer firmware? It was supposed to enable dual tuner and cool down the box , make it run cooler.
    that makes no sense
    why would you need fta re transmitted?

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    ďAlways do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.Ē

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,608
    Satfix Buxs
    5,335
    Thanks
    8,955
    Thanked 8,000x in 2,238 Posts
    Items Immunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dishuser View Post
    that makes no sense
    why would you need fta re transmitted?
    I don't think most users understand the concept:the sat signal comes directly to you.The control words and emm's (entitlement management message) come from your iks provider.Thats one of the reasons your internet bandwidth usage is small with iks.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    100
    Satfix Buxs
    856
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 11x in 9 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Willucome2014 View Post
    As one of the I switched to iptv so far less glitching, let's not forget the heavy load on your internet connection, and if there isn't a heavy load (Netflix says 3.5 gb per hour HD, 7- 8 gb per hour of video watched 4k).

    With amatuer "iptv " you're getting a cheap quality box to watch a signal that objectively is at best DVD quality and at worst unwatchable. Even if the osd and box seller or even the player's say HD or 4k. They cannot change the streams I monitored and thier sd quality size.

    They can't hide the fact that those true HD qualities require a certain amount of bandwidth. Unless you apply "magical thinking " and wish to believe that some guy in his basement with amateur equipment, can do a better job at encoding hd and 4k at 1/4 the bandwidth than Netflix and Amazon Prime tv, even hulu. Who are always looking to reduce bandwidth costs, while maintaining the proper quality for HD and 4k.

    Clearly if that was possible that person would be a overnight billionaire, and not making cheapo internet streams

    Satellite via Jynxbox:

    This takes little to no load on your internet, as most of us know and the picture is what it says it is. And not being sent via the internet there is zero concern of receiving a "notice"

    I know this because I do have a "iptv" box just to test. I put on a proper same channel on both boxes , switched via hdmi switcher one to the other , the quality on satellite hd was well 1080 HD. On the other it was watchable looked almost as good as we, but only sometimes, and face smudgieness and occasional blackouts were a factor. I could live with it but only if I "had" to which we do not . Neither should we.

    What's my point? The Latin forums have figured out how to permanently fix the jb200 tuners, they've hardware modded 2 tiny pcb on the back of jb200 to send more current down the line, less stress on the caps that fry out, and better switching. It's a hardware mod . I posted pics on this site.

    Instead of buying new jb200 and worrying about supply just to get perfect satellite quality and dolby digital sound.

    Why don't we (whoever understands espaneol, I don't ) all work together and resolve this once and for all?
    There has to be enough fta people that want true satellite hd direct from the source not retransmitted for the 3rd time. Yes?

    Then next issue is to get dual tuner and recording on USB working properly . Currently it glitches in recording onto thumb drives . Have not tried USB hard drive. But to record properly we need the dual tuner firmware working.

    Has anyone tried the official clone killer firmware? It was supposed to enable dual tuner and cool down the box , make it run cooler.
    Piggybacking off this...

    I love my Jynxbox, but I hate the signal dropping issue I have, which I assume is from an overheating JB200, which I've had to replace numerous times already. The signal drops to 42%, then I have to either change channels and go back or shut the whole thing down and reboot for it to catch the signal again.

    Any thoughts on how to avoid this? I currently have it sitting atop a fan, but that's obviously not working. Any idea on how to install an internal fan?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,083
    Satfix Buxs
    334,054
    Thanks
    2,782
    Thanked 6,266x in 2,550 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    I don't think there is room inside for an internal fan, and one located below the unit wont work too well as the main PCB is in the way.

    What has been done (in some cases) is to drill some 3/16 inch holes (lots of them) in the top of the case right above the module and direct the air from a fan right at the heat source.

    Other then direct cooling of the module there is not much that can be done.

    Here is a list for some very quiet fans, the lower the dB rating the quieter the fan.
    Code:
    https://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g36/c437/s1123/list/p1/Fans-12_Volt_Fans_by_dB-0_-_9_dB_Fans-Page1.html
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  6. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    100
    Satfix Buxs
    856
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 11x in 9 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    I don't think there is room inside for an internal fan, and one located below the unit wont work too well as the main PCB is in the way.

    What has been done (in some cases) is to drill some 3/16 inch holes (lots of them) in the top of the case right above the module and direct the air from a fan right at the heat source.

    Other then direct cooling of the module there is not much that can be done.

    Here is a list for some very quiet fans, the lower the dB rating the quieter the fan.
    Code:
    https://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g36/c437/s1123/list/p1/Fans-12_Volt_Fans_by_dB-0_-_9_dB_Fans-Page1.html
    Thanks very much Terryl. You're always an incredibly helpful poster. Much appreciated.

    Are you completely familiar with the Jynxbox? If so, what causes this signal dropping issue? It often drops to 42% exclusively, so I'll then have to change channels and go back to the original channel (sometimes a few times) for the signal to jump back to 85% and for the picture to come in. Is this definitely because of the JB200? FYI, I am pointed at sat 82 (Bev).

  7. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    278
    Satfix Buxs
    11,721
    Thanks
    562
    Thanked 257x in 154 Posts

    Default

    Most of the Hd modules create a lot of heat, which in turn causes all sorts of issues, what I did on my SV800HD & DL-T4
    was mount a Fan in the Top of case cover, blowing air down over the PB & HD-Mod. and such to keep things Cool.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    53
    Satfix Buxs
    156
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 12x in 5 Posts

    Default

    for me I removed the top lid completely off of the jinkbox and gave an extended lifetime to the jb 200

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,083
    Satfix Buxs
    334,054
    Thanks
    2,782
    Thanked 6,266x in 2,550 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssr316 View Post
    Thanks very much Terryl. You're always an incredibly helpful poster. Much appreciated.

    Are you completely familiar with the Jynxbox? If so, what causes this signal dropping issue? It often drops to 42% exclusively, so I'll then have to change channels and go back to the original channel (sometimes a few times) for the signal to jump back to 85% and for the picture to come in. Is this definitely because of the JB200? FYI, I am pointed at sat 82 (Bev).
    No sorry I have little knowledge of this box, all I have is over 40 years of working with electronic devices to know a heat problem when I see one, and the best way to try and fix a bad design.

    You must remember that these boxes were never designed to do what they are trying to do now,(8PSK Turbo HD) the add on module is of a poor design, and a very cheap one at that, it overheats, this is a design problem, not much can be done to fix it but to pump as much cooling air at as you can at the module.

    The better way would have this module's circuit incorporated into the main PCB, however this would make it illegal to import into the US or Canada as the Turbo HD decoder is an Echo* usage only broadcast format, and only their receivers (and anyone licensed to use that format) can use it.

    You can get an FTA receiver that will demodulate and decode 8PSK HD, but not one that will do 8PSK Turbo HD directly.

    So now that this mornings coffee has wore down a bit, the possible problems with signal dropping out may be due to the overheating problems, if you can mount a small fan blowing directly onto this module it may help.

    I see in some online photos that the designers of this module know of this over heating problem and have tried to correct it, a bigger heat sink then what is supplied may be needed, or the way it is attached to the decoder chip may be a problem, improper thermal connection to the chip can cause all sorts of problems, this decoder chip looks like it was never designed to have a heat sink attached, this may be the problem, a chip that produces this much heat needs a better way to remove it as fast as possible.

    This chip's heat sink looks to be attached with thermally conductive tape, this can be a problem, as the tape is not that great at transferring the heat from the chip to the heat sink, the better way would be to use some silver bearing heat sink compound and a way to hold the heat sink tightly against the IC chip via a mechanical hold down. (clips or screws)
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  12. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    77
    Satfix Buxs
    695
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 45x in 29 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by auggie View Post
    Most of the Hd modules create a lot of heat, which in turn causes all sorts of issues, what I did on my SV800HD & DL-T4
    was mount a Fan in the Top of case cover, blowing air down over the PB & HD-Mod. and such to keep things Cool.
    This is the method I use on my Jynxbox, bore the holes in the cover and attached the fan to it blowing air onto the JB200 and I have not experienced any issues so far and my box is over 3yrs old.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •