Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Zinwell switch setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Thumbs up Zinwell switch setup

    I have this Zinwell switch-MS3X4WB-Z =3X4 Multi Switch, will this work for Titanium C-Band only twin output LNB.

    Now if I remember this right, I hook 1 LNB port to the 13 volt switch port and the second LNB port goes to the 18 volt switch port, I need to be able to use 4 receivers with my setup, I just wanted ask before I screwed somthing up LOL.

    BTW, I can't seem post to a pic of the switch and LNB today, don't know why.
    Last edited by iq180; 05-14-2019 at 06:40 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,031
    Satfix Buxs
    314,592
    Thanks
    2,735
    Thanked 6,198x in 2,516 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Is this the switch??
    Code:
    https://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=sam3402&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cse&utm_term=sam3402&gclid=Cj0KCQjwnpXmBRDUARIsAEo71tTQenVqVJTE0KKFB8s2JbErMed6ovu524eCXsERHwIuGNwNUIkLgdQaAnYOEALw_wcB
    And this LNB??
    Code:
    http://www.titaniumsatellite.com/c2wpll
    If I remember right if you put +13 volts from the switch it will output all the Vertical transponders and the +18 volt side will do the Horizontal ones, so it may not work with that dual output LNB, I think the correct LNB for that switch needs to have one 13 volt and one 18 volt output, on that Titanium LNB you have, the outputs are independent, so one output will take both control voltages from one receiver, and the second one will take both control voltages from a second receiver.

    I think that switch is for a DTV LNB.

    I think you would need a standard 4x4 switch for the Titanium LNB
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Is this the switch??
    Code:
    https://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=sam3402&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cse&utm_term=sam3402&gclid=Cj0KCQjwnpXmBRDUARIsAEo71tTQenVqVJTE0KKFB8s2JbErMed6ovu524eCXsERHwIuGNwNUIkLgdQaAnYOEALw_wcB
    And this LNB??
    Code:
    http://www.titaniumsatellite.com/c2wpll
    If I remember right if you put +13 volts from the switch it will output all the Vertical transponders and the +18 volt side will do the Horizontal ones, so it may not work with that dual output LNB, I think the correct LNB for that switch needs to have one 13 volt and one 18 volt output, on that Titanium LNB you have, the outputs are independent, so one output will take both control voltages from one receiver, and the second one will take both control voltages from a second receiver.

    I think that switch is for a DTV LNB.

    I think you would need a standard 4x4 switch for the Titanium LNB
    Ok so what is the best switch to use with Titanium twin output C-band only LNB, I use 2 receivers on it now and it works perfect but I need 4 receivers for my house, I am done working on the house now and it's time to add to more receivers.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,031
    Satfix Buxs
    314,592
    Thanks
    2,735
    Thanked 6,198x in 2,516 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Well most of the good ones have been discontinued, also what receiver is going to control the motor??

    And I think this one may work.
    Code:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/3x4-satellite-multiswitch-multiswitch-MS3-4EUA-3-4-YEAR-WARRANTY-Made-in-EU-/261684305526
    But it takes an external +18 volt supply.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Well most of the good ones have been discontinued, also what receiver is going to control the motor??

    And I think this one may work.
    Code:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/3x4-satellite-multiswitch-multiswitch-MS3-4EUA-3-4-YEAR-WARRANTY-Made-in-EU-/261684305526
    But it takes an external +18 volt supply.
    I am using a Freesat V8 Super as my main receiver hooked to the new upgraded V-Box dish mover, I have it set to auto and everything works perfect, LOL, it works so good my wife can use it with no problems, you just put it on a CH and the dish will go to it, I just need to add 2 more receivers for a total of 4, the 2 receivers I need to add will be 1 freesat V8 Nova and the other one will be a GSKY V8 for data stream recording.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    97
    Satfix Buxs
    4,931
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 179x in 77 Posts

    Default

    I bought powered Cabletronix CTMS-16RKPS on ebay less than $5 with coupon then add shipping. I have a lot of pc tuners(6)and receivers(4+) will let you know how it works out iq. It cant hurt to have a few extra ports

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Well most of the good ones have been discontinued, also what receiver is going to control the motor??

    And I think this one may work.
    Code:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/3x4-satellite-multiswitch-multiswitch-MS3-4EUA-3-4-YEAR-WARRANTY-Made-in-EU-/261684305526
    But it takes an external +18 volt supply.
    Will this one work, it has an 18 volt LNB port and a 13 volt LNB port.

    GEOSATpro 2x4 Multi-Switch for FTA Satellite, Connect 4 receivers to 1 Dish!

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,031
    Satfix Buxs
    314,592
    Thanks
    2,735
    Thanked 6,198x in 2,516 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    OK, the LNB your using has 2 outputs, both are independent from each other, this means that one output can be on "H" polarity's, while the other can be on the "V" polarity's, or both on "H or "V".

    If the switch will only put out +13V on one port and +18V on the other port you will lock out independant opposite polarity switching for that output, what I cant quite see is if the switch has 4 receiver ports will the switch allow all polarity's to be switched independently by all receivers?

    This may be a problem or not, all you could do is try the switch you have and see if it works out, I have never tested a dual output "C" band LNB to more then 2 receivers.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Well the Zinwell switch seems to be working with 2 receivers, 1 on a H tp and the other 1 on a V tp, I will now add the other 2 receivers.
    Last edited by iq180; 05-14-2019 at 06:53 PM.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to iq180 For This Useful Post:


  13. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,031
    Satfix Buxs
    314,592
    Thanks
    2,735
    Thanked 6,198x in 2,516 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Well I guess it will look for the "H" Tp's on one input and the "V" TP's on the other, if the two receivers you have now work OK, then there should not be a problem.

    Is this dish steerable??
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Well I guess it will look for the "H" Tp's on one input and the "V" TP's on the other, if the two receivers you have now work OK, then there should not be a problem.

    Is this dish steerable??
    Yes, I get sats 40.5w to 139.0w, on my 10 footer.

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    347
    Satfix Buxs
    35,313
    Thanks
    398
    Thanked 154x in 95 Posts
    Items Ribbon 3Crown RoyalGuitar2Wireless AccessEnglandMexicoUSACanada

    Default

    A Zinwell 3x4 should work fine for four STBs. BTW 3x4 could be thought of as 2x4 with the third input a terrestrial or antenna in.

    Just use one port as H the other V and program STB accordingly. They actually work like a charm. I have not done C band in about 20 years but the theory is the same.

    Man I wish I could put up a C band dish where I am ;(

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to jets For This Useful Post:


  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,031
    Satfix Buxs
    314,592
    Thanks
    2,735
    Thanked 6,198x in 2,516 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    Well the puzzling thing was the dual output "C" band LNB, I have done tones of "Ku" band dual a tripple output LNB's into tons of differant switches, but never ran across a dual output "C" band.

    We didn't know what the outcome would be, into 4 receivers.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  18. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,822
    Satfix Buxs
    289,318
    Thanks
    4,089
    Thanked 5,870x in 1,854 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jets View Post
    A Zinwell 3x4 should work fine for four STBs. BTW 3x4 could be thought of as 2x4 with the third input a terrestrial or antenna in.

    Just use one port as H the other V and program STB accordingly. They actually work like a charm. I have not done C band in about 20 years but the theory is the same.

    Man I wish I could put up a C band dish where I am ;(
    Yep, that's the one I have with the antenna in port, the fact of the matter is my receivers work better now with the switch than without it, before when you change the ch on one receiver from a V tp to a H tp it would kill the other receiver for 5 seconds, now that problem is gone, I am very happy with the Zinwell switch and it was free.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •