Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Orby TV 117w

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Question Orby TV 117w

    I was thinking about getting a receiver so I tried aiming @ 117w
    I used just an old openbox receiver to aim.
    My 80cm dish got nothing so I went with my 1 meter dish.
    1/2 the channels are N3 and the others on 117w are conax.
    Did a search on activation and some say only the installer can
    activate.Others say you can activate with the phone app.
    Their website is sparse,no support tab.
    On the website chat I asked about a dish already installed
    and the lady said it has to be an orby tv dish.
    Looking for somebody that did a self install and got it activated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    The openbox s10 and gsky v7 scan the channels as radio channels,which is strange because
    both are hd capable.I've only seen old receivers do that.
    The gsky freezes when scanning the conax tp's
    The tocom s929 scans the channels but doesn't do conax or n3
    The same for the skysat v20

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Seeing Beyond
    Posts
    327
    Satfix Buxs
    2,737
    Thanks
    858
    Thanked 564x in 173 Posts

    Default

    Tried a while back with a SV8000 to locate but gave up. Since my SG2100 blew have to do the manual rotate on the dish. Plus as time has gone along my patience are nowhere near what they once were. Figure without the box and a sub you are pretty much dead in the water. Seen where Best Buy sells the receiver but figure once you buy it you have to schedule an install. Have a NFHD as well but don't think I tried with it. Some signal meters are a bit more fickle than others. Hard to pay someone to install a dish you could setup yourself for zero.
    Man looks in the abyss, there's nothing staring back at him. At that moment,
    man finds his character. And that is what keeps him out of the abyss.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    If I could activate the sub myself I would try it.
    It may be worth buying just to rip it apart.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    48
    Satfix Buxs
    170
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15x in 10 Posts

    Default

    Orby uses hevc , you need a box that does h265 compression. You can setup the dish
    Yourself and activate the orby tv receiver over the phone.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Post

    ok
    explains why the s929 and v20 scan correctly.
    Code:
    https://orbytv.com/self-installation-page/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,886
    Satfix Buxs
    298,280
    Thanks
    4,104
    Thanked 5,939x in 1,888 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zelig View Post
    ok
    explains why the s929 and v20 scan correctly.
    Code:
    https://orbytv.com/self-installation-page/
    80% of these CHs are on C-Band, satellite 125.0w, so if you could get a larger dish I think you would be very happy with satellite 125.0w and a C-Band setup, BTW, you mite be able to get them with the dish you have with the right LNB and scaller ring, that would depend on your location.
    You can PM me if you want more info on this.
    Last edited by iq180; 07-01-2019 at 07:02 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    only a mini bud to play with aimed that at 91w
    eirp has to be 42+ for me to get any dvb-s
    lyngsat is useless for that,has my location as Oklahoma.
    and no option to change it.
    scalar from the 1980's is the best,deeper fins.
    conical and modern scalar not as good.
    I played for months with the different scalars.
    It has to be right at the front edge of the lnb.
    I never got anything on 125w with the mini bud
    My range is 30w to 121w

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    in the dog house
    Posts
    2,886
    Satfix Buxs
    298,280
    Thanks
    4,104
    Thanked 5,939x in 1,888 Posts
    Items G&R
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 02:51 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday,

     I noticed your signature was looking a little bare, so here's a little something to help you decorate it.

Happy Holidays,
S_N_SImmunity to Theft
Gift received at 07-25-2011, 12:29 AM from ICEMAN
Message: merry chritmas

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zelig View Post
    only a mini bud to play with aimed that at 91w
    eirp has to be 42+ for me to get any dvb-s
    lyngsat is useless for that,has my location as Oklahoma.
    and no option to change it.
    scalar from the 1980's is the best,deeper fins.
    conical and modern scalar not as good.
    I played for months with the different scalars.
    It has to be right at the front edge of the lnb.
    I never got anything on 125w with the mini bud
    My range is 30w to 121w
    Go to Lyngsat and look at satellite 101.0w, look at the Powervu and BISS TPs, also look at other satellite that you can get, PM me if you want to know more.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    91w had the highest eirp,aimed at that.
    117w had 1 tp not even listed on lyngsat 3856h 2802
    nothing on 101w 103w tried yesterday.
    notice most if not all the scrambled channels are dvb-s2
    impossible to get with mine so just a tease.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,055
    Satfix Buxs
    324,183
    Thanks
    2,756
    Thanked 6,237x in 2,536 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    The Ku band TP's I think your looking for on 117W (Eutelsat 117B West) are on a Ku band spot beam,(Ku1) this beam is centered on Mexico City, (see foot print below) you need to be South of lets say a line from Redding California, Salt lake City Utah, Tulsa Oklahoma, Nashville Tennessee, ending at around Greensboro North Carolina to get a good signal on this transponder.

    Code:
    https://www.satbeams.com/footprints?norad=41589
    select the Ku1 beam for Eutelsat 117B West.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    west A since I can get 1 c band tp B has no c band
    the beam targets the east and west coast,which makes sense if they are trying to compete
    with the other famous providers.
    Got the receiver today.
    If it has a flash it is hidden under the big heatsink and is BGA,so I can't do a dump.
    Uses a SIM for nagra 3
    I didn't turn it on yet in case there is something I can do with the SIM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    403
    Satfix Buxs
    61,297
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 254x in 139 Posts

    Default

    got the $40 plan today.
    Primestar lnb into a dtv 3x8 switch.
    Recycle and save.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •