Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 80

Thread: PVR causes video to freeze

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    I have just received the new .Fantom 1 TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0/2.0 External Hard Drive.

    I decided to just go with the 500 GB instead connected it to my Dreamlink T5 HD and received Invalid USB.

    I tried to reboot both External Hard Drive and Dreamlink and it showed up the same.

    I disconnected it then formatted it to FAT 32 with EaseUS Partition Master then connected it back to the Dreamlink and it still shows Invalid USB.

    I don't know what else I can do, but could someone please help me because this new external drive is self powered plugs in and still should not have this issue.

    Thanks in advance.

    Update: I was finally able to get it to work without the window popping up with the error....Invalid USB.

    It seems I had to shut off the switch of the Dreamlink at the back wait 30 seconds or so.

    I then also turned off the switch on the new external drive waited awhile then turned the the switch back on for the external drive.

    Waited 30 seconds again then turned on the switch of the Dreamlink then it finally recognized.

    The Dreamlink is very tricky to connected to any external drive as a PVR it seems.

    I have found now the Dreamlink is recording the PVR right now without any freezing of the video what so ever.
    Last edited by lionking; 10-24-2019 at 09:02 PM.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to lionking For This Useful Post:


  3. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    511
    Satfix Buxs
    1,096,967
    Thanks
    2,272
    Thanked 810x in 304 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    Yes the DL'S can be Finicky, which I believe is related to Power issues it has (not enough power to run everything)

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  5. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,291
    Satfix Buxs
    1,079,664
    Thanks
    11,001
    Thanked 11,061x in 2,824 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lionking View Post
    I have just received the new .Fantom 1 TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0/2.0 External Hard Drive.

    I decided to just go with the 500 GB instead connected it to my Dreamlink T5 HD and received Invalid USB.

    I tried to reboot both External Hard Drive and Dreamlink and it showed up the same.

    I disconnected it then formatted it to FAT 32 with EaseUS Partition Master then connected it back to the Dreamlink and it still shows Invalid USB.

    I don't know what else I can do, but could someone please help me because this new external drive is self powered plugs in and still should not have this issue.

    Thanks in advance.

    Update: I was finally able to get it to work without the window popping up with the error....Invalid USB.

    It seems I had to shut off the switch of the Dreamlink at the back wait 30 seconds or so.

    I then also turned off the switch on the new external drive waited awhile then turned the the switch back on for the external drive.

    Waited 30 seconds again then turned on the switch of the Dreamlink then it finally recognized.

    The Dreamlink is very tricky to connected to any external drive as a PVR it seems.

    I have found now the Dreamlink is recording the PVR right now without any freezing of the video what so ever.
    I love a happy ending...lol

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to The Noof For This Useful Post:


  7. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    It did work for awhile on my DL T5, but then it froze and went scrambled unfortunately.

    The external hard drive only will work with pvr is it is set manually by pushing the record button when epg guide is up.

    The other issues is the new external drive does not like recording one pvr after another that is why it froze up.

    I started from scratch with the rebooting of the external drive and my box.

    I then tried to do a format from the box, then set it to record only 1 pvr.

    After I set up another pvr I watched it but maybe 32x was too much and it stopped by going back to the pvr menu the screen was broken up showing what is on live and the pvr menu.

    I disconnected the hard drive and reconnected to my DL T1 box and it recognized it right away so far I just did a manual pvr recording on it and set it up for a timed pvr recording.

    I will give u an update later on what has happened.

    If it goes well for the DL T1 HD box I will keep the external drive.

    I will return at least one of the external drives back for a refund then order a 500 GB SSD which comes with a USB C to USB C and another cable that is USB C to USB A.

    This could be connected to the USB of the DL T5.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to lionking For This Useful Post:


  9. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Now is the time is the time for the update the 500 GB Fanthom Drive.

    This external drive works very well with the DL T1 receiver, but of course as I said issues with the DL T5 with this drive.

    Today I tried to format a 500 GB SSD from other to FAT32, and the DL T5 did recognize the drive without showing error INVALID DRIVE.

    However, when I tried to record with the external SSD the video again froze up and showed scrambled.

    I even tried to re format the SSD through FORMAT on the DL T5 and it just showed PLEASE WAIT and then nothing.

    Now I will have to re format the SSD back to other and try to return it back for a refund too.

    Is there another way of connecting an external usb drive to the DL T5 so it does not show any of these errors?

    Thanks in advance.

  10. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,291
    Satfix Buxs
    1,079,664
    Thanks
    11,001
    Thanked 11,061x in 2,824 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lionking View Post
    Now is the time is the time for the update the 500 GB Fanthom Drive.

    This external drive works very well with the DL T1 receiver, but of course as I said issues with the DL T5 with this drive.

    Today I tried to format a 500 GB SSD from other to FAT32, and the DL T5 did recognize the drive without showing error INVALID DRIVE.

    However, when I tried to record with the external SSD the video again froze up and showed scrambled.

    I even tried to re format the SSD through FORMAT on the DL T5 and it just showed PLEASE WAIT and then nothing.

    Now I will have to re format the SSD back to other and try to return it back for a refund too.

    Is there another way of connecting an external usb drive to the DL T5 so it does not show any of these errors?

    Thanks in advance.
    Ihave 2 t5s' in service that do not have this issue bro.I'm not using "fantom" brand ssds'. i don't know wh t to tell you. the adata brand,500gb work well for me.
    Last edited by The Noof; 10-28-2019 at 11:19 PM.

  11. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Noof View Post
    Ihave 2 t5s' in service that do not have this issue bro.I'm not using "fantom" brand ssds'. i don't know wh t to tell you. the adata brand,500gb work well for me.
    Oh I wasn't using a fanthom brand ssd it was a Samsung ssd

    As far as what you are using right now...

    Are you talking about this one?

    ADATA USA DashDriv Durable HD650 1TB Anti-Shock Portable External Hard Drive - Black (AHD650-1TU3-CBK) ?

  12. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    511
    Satfix Buxs
    1,096,967
    Thanks
    2,272
    Thanked 810x in 304 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    I also found/heard that Western Digital powered drives work well with DL's

  13. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by auggie View Post
    I also found/heard that Western Digital powered drives work well with DL's
    Yes they do work well, but hard to find right now unless I could find a new one on fleabay.

    I did have one before with it's own power cord it was used when I bought it then went on me.

    I also had a Lacie self powered external usb it was over 15 years old and finally went.

  14. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    This question is for The Noof next time your are logged in here....

    Your have mentioned you go with adata brand 500gb for the DL HD T5.

    I cannot right now find that adata brand in a 500gb size only 1TB and higher.

    Please tell me does the adata brand external drives when I have seen pictures of them and they have no plug and cord connection just a USB connection would work better than other external drives that are also not self-powered?

    Thanks in advance.

  15. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,291
    Satfix Buxs
    1,079,664
    Thanks
    11,001
    Thanked 11,061x in 2,824 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lionking View Post
    This question is for The Noof next time your are logged in here....

    Your have mentioned you go with adata brand 500gb for the DL HD T5.

    I cannot right now find that adata brand in a 500gb size only 1TB and higher.

    Please tell me does the adata brand external drives when I have seen pictures of them and they have no plug and cord connection just a USB connection would work better than other external drives that are also not self-powered?

    Thanks in advance.
    I've had this several years:may not even be made anymore.It seems a TB & larger is what the people want.I will find the model # for you when I get home

  16. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Could you please let me know when you will be home. Thanks.

  17. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    590
    Satfix Buxs
    3,500
    Thanks
    222
    Thanked 134x in 99 Posts
    Items Lion
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 09:26 PM from orchidgirl
Message: Just becasue!! CheersYacht
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlCamaro
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 08:15 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-06-2020, 02:18 AM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Please move post up. Thanks in advance.

  18. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3,291
    Satfix Buxs
    1,079,664
    Thanks
    11,001
    Thanked 11,061x in 2,824 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    ADATA HV620.We are using 2 of them with great sucess.I formated them using disk manager to FAT32 file system on a Windows 7 64 pc before using.

  19. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    25
    Satfix Buxs
    361
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hello your
    You could use something like this: hxxps://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Aluminum-Enclosure-Cooling-EC-UEIS7/dp/B001PHLMAE/ref=sr_1_13?keywords=powered+hard+drive+enclosure& qid=1571624056&refinements=p_n_feature_keywords_fo ur_browse-bin%3A6022609011%2Cp_n_feature_keywords_browse-bin%3A5492129011&rnid=2886899011&s=pc&sr=1-13

    Don't work do you have another

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •