Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Puzzled

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default Puzzled

    I have a 6400 hooked up to a B3v via a dp44 installed by the B3v guy back than in 2013.
    I have 3 receivers with both bird 2 6131 an 1 6400. This morning the 6400 lost the 82 bird and 91 is working.
    I checked the dish it's fine, cables are fine I even changed the one from the wall to the receiver still no 82, I even swapped it to another room and it's working fine both birds
    therefore not the box dish is fine because the other 2 are working on both birds. I tried the box from another room in the place of the 6400 and ah ah it's not working on 82. Would you say now it's the
    dpp44 that is busted? Why is it not affecting the other 2 boxes only one port would be busted on the switch?
    Last edited by bus1962; 01-20-2020 at 01:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4,730
    Satfix Buxs
    1,267,255
    Thanks
    4,234
    Thanked 7,453x in 2,853 Posts
    Items Crown Royal
Gift received at 11-09-2019, 09:07 PM from Putski
Message: Have a couple drinks on me..Sword

    Default

    Sounds like the switch to me. Run the 82 bird directly to 6400 to confirm.
    make sure you havnt lost power to switch

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nobodyspecial For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    The switch is definitely busted, I switched with another port not in use for HD and the channels
    came back. I did a check switch and it worked, so the switch is the problem.
    I ordered another one maybe a zap of some sort blew that particular port I don't know
    but for now it's working on another port.
    Thanks for your help

  5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bus1962 For This Useful Post:


  6. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    Well the ird is acting up again and it wasn't the switch it's the ird itself. Sat 82 is not rolling in no hd station only sat 91. Any idea as to what is busted inside and not letting sat 82 pass tru??
    In the mean time I'm looking for a new 6131 hdtv instead of another 6400 no more.
    Hard to find and B3V is pushing for their ****ty fibe stuff and I'm not going fibe ESPECIALLY with them

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    141
    Satfix Buxs
    1,010,077
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 114x in 56 Posts
    Items Immunity to TheftRepMotorcycle
Gift received at 01-29-2020, 01:16 AM from orchidgirl
Message: I forgot this one lolCheetos
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlhelicopter
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlVintage truck
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Not familiar with those irds but I’ve seen similar problems due to bulging capacitors on the circuit board.

    Pop the cover off and go looking.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to wedalan For This Useful Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    Thanks I was just reading browsing on google about defective capacitors on that ird you are probably right thanks again

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,192
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,599
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,528x in 2,630 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    If your are talking about OEM receivers (BEV, Echostar or Dish) then there should not be a problem with bad caps, as the OEM receivers are built with high quality components, I have never seen an OEM receiver go bad due to a cap problem in the power supply. Mostly the hard drive (if there is one) or some other component goes FUBAR.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,192
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,599
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,528x in 2,630 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    If this is an OEM receiver, then go to the menu (press MENU the 6 1 1 ) and do a switch check in the system setup section, give the unit time to see if the switch is bad or not.
    Last edited by Terryl; 02-08-2020 at 06:38 PM.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    I read that these receivers are notorious for bad cap this particular one the 6400. If you look higher up you will read that I changed the switch because I thought at the time that the switch was bad and I changed it and it's acting up again so it's definitely not the switch and if I do a check switch I get "you have less than what you have before if you save it you will loose channels" or something like that, meaning that sat 82's channels HD are not rolling in and they were before. I tried the box somewhere else in the house where another hdmi box is working and it's not. It is definitely the receiver
    and it is an OEM I've given up on fta as most of the channels are gone or the one I used to watch and I don't do iptv so I have to settle with my legit B3V crap
    Last edited by bus1962; 02-08-2020 at 07:04 PM.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to bus1962 For This Useful Post:


  14. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    141
    Satfix Buxs
    1,010,077
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 114x in 56 Posts
    Items Immunity to TheftRepMotorcycle
Gift received at 01-29-2020, 01:16 AM from orchidgirl
Message: I forgot this one lolCheetos
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlTree
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlhelicopter
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirlVintage truck
Gift received at 01-27-2020, 05:19 PM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    If your are talking about OEM receivers (BEV, Echostar or Dish) then there should not be a problem with bad caps, as the OEM receivers are built with high quality components, I have never seen an OEM receiver go bad due to a cap problem in the power supply. Mostly the hard drive (if there is one) or some other component goes FUBAR.

    Oh ya they go bad, lots & lots. My experience is with 9242,9241 but yes the caps in the signal circuit bulge and you’ll see low signal strength on some but not nec all transponders. It’ll drive you in circles until you figure it out.

    I’m not familiar with his ird type but given that your other rec are getting a good signal I’d say pop the cover off and check your box.


    Have a gander over at this site. www*.*digitalhome*.ca (Take out the astrix’s ) (I know no-live links but I don’t know how to up it in a pic, sorry mods hope this isn’t against any policies here.)
    There’s some useful info about oem cap failure/replacement. If you are handy with a soldering iron it’s a pretty easy fix.

    Let us know how it goes

    Cheers

  15. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to wedalan For This Useful Post:


  16. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    85
    Satfix Buxs
    281
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 41x in 23 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bus1962 View Post
    Well the ird is acting up again and it wasn't the switch it's the ird itself. Sat 82 is not rolling in no hd station only sat 91. Any idea as to what is busted inside and not letting sat 82 pass tru??
    In the mean time I'm looking for a new 6131 hdtv instead of another 6400 no more.
    Hard to find and B3V is pushing for their ****ty fibe stuff and I'm not going fibe ESPECIALLY with them
    Check Kijiji..........I just pick up a 6131 last week for $50.00

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    I just bought a used 6131 because they are more reliable than those 6400 crap and I've told Bell that they are pieces of garbage. I did pop the top off and I really can't see any that are bulging (please attached pic of my box) but once I get the other "more reliable" one than those 6400 I will play with it.
    Last edited by bus1962; 02-09-2020 at 08:37 PM. Reason: where in the hell is my picture

  18. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    66
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6x in 4 Posts

    Default

    I did check digital home and they list the caps that bulges in different ird quite explanatory

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •