Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: DIY Repair Power supply caps c10-c24 on SV8000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    436
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default DIY Repair Power supply caps c10-c24 on SV8000

    It is difficult for me to locate the c10 capacitor on the board. The power supply has not got anything marked on the board. I am able to guess the relative position of the c24 from google images. From one image the relative position of c10 corresponds to a small 47uf 10v cap. Has anyone experienced with the power supply ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,193
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,601
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,531x in 2,631 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    If there is a bad electrolytic cap on a PCB, it will be domed up, the cap should not be changed if it is not damaged or dried out.

    Bad vs good caps.jpg
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    If there is a bad electrolytic cap on a PCB, it will be domed up, the cap should not be changed if it is not damaged or dried out.

    Bad vs good caps.jpg
    They can also darken the pcb at the bottom of the cap when they leak out the legs.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ftafixsat View Post
    It is difficult for me to locate the c10 capacitor on the board. The power supply has not got anything marked on the board. I am able to guess the relative position of the c24 from google images. From one image the relative position of c10 corresponds to a small 47uf 10v cap. Has anyone experienced with the power supply ?
    I'm pretty sure I have a good image of the pcb that identifies the caps locations.I will look for it when I get home from work this aft.I also have a reworked power supply if need be.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Should be home soon...I hope.lol
    Last edited by The Noof; 02-08-2020 at 03:36 PM.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ftafixsat View Post
    It is difficult for me to locate the c10 capacitor on the board. The power supply has not got anything marked on the board. I am able to guess the relative position of the c24 from google images. From one image the relative position of c10 corresponds to a small 47uf 10v cap. Has anyone experienced with the power supply ?
    Check your p.m.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    436
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Noof View Post
    Check your p.m.
    thumbnail_IMG_0120.jpg

    I am showing my power supply layout.
    Thanks

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,193
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,601
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,531x in 2,631 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    That is a switching power supply kid's, be very sure you have disconnected it from the main unit and let it sit for about ten minuets, otherwise you may be in for a nasty shock.

    A switching power supply uses a high frequency switching circuit that connects one section of it directly to the AC main, there is no isolation transformer in that section, if you come across one of the components in that section, and it's still charged or plugged in you will have a big surprise, you may wake up in the corner of the room. (hopefully) Be very careful working with a switching power supply,(if you have never done so) we don't want to hear about any accidents.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  11. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    412
    Satfix Buxs
    1,043,611
    Thanks
    1,245
    Thanked 501x in 229 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default Repair Power supply caps c10-c24 on SV8000

    Also this one as well
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  13. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Sent......

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    20
    Satfix Buxs
    436
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4x in 3 Posts

    Default

    My Sonicview 8000 was the last batch of receivers being produced at that time. Out of the box, my C10 is a 470uf 10V capacitor and c24 is 1000uf 10v. Almost everyone is replacing c10 by a 1000uf 25/35v capacitor. Should I stay with a 470uf/ higher voltage as replacement to keep original capacitance?

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    412
    Satfix Buxs
    1,043,611
    Thanks
    1,245
    Thanked 501x in 229 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    Go by the PDF I posted (TestAndRepairSV8kPowerSupply.pdf) what ever is recommended in there.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,193
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,601
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,531x in 2,631 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ftafixsat View Post
    My Sonicview 8000 was the last batch of receivers being produced at that time. Out of the box, my C10 is a 470uf 10V capacitor and c24 is 1000uf 10v. Almost everyone is replacing c10 by a 1000uf 25/35v capacitor. Should I stay with a 470uf/ higher voltage as replacement to keep original capacitance?

    You can always replace a cap with a higher voltage rating then the original, you can also go above the original caps micro Farad rating,(unless it's in a timing circuit) however the one problem may be the hole size in the PCB for the cap's leads, in some cases the higher voltage/rating cap's leads may be a bit bigger in diameter then the old one, and you can't/shouldn't drill out the hole's as it may be used as a feed through for a circuit trace to go to other parts of the board.

    Also these PCB's are cheap, so don't use too hot of a soldering gun as you may lift a trace or damage the board.

    So you could use a 470 uF-25 volt cap if it fits the holes, these are just power supply filter caps.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  19. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2,910
    Satfix Buxs
    1,026,532
    Thanks
    9,817
    Thanked 9,182x in 2,498 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ftafixsat View Post
    My Sonicview 8000 was the last batch of receivers being produced at that time. Out of the box, my C10 is a 470uf 10V capacitor and c24 is 1000uf 10v. Almost everyone is replacing c10 by a 1000uf 25/35v capacitor. Should I stay with a 470uf/ higher voltage as replacement to keep original capacitance?
    You must keep the same capacitance value, but you can up the working voltage.I use 50v when I can get them.There is room on the board for the larger cans.

  20. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,193
    Satfix Buxs
    1,388,601
    Thanks
    2,874
    Thanked 6,531x in 2,631 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Sorry Noof, but you can always go higher with the cap's uF value in a power supply filter circuit if it fits the PCB.

    The only reason the original PCB didn't have a higher voltage higher rating cap in it was for cost, a 470 uF 10 volt cap is cheaper then a 470 uF (or higher) 25 volt cap when used in a 3 to 5 volt power supply circuit.
    ♫♫♫ I知 a lumberjack and I知 OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •