Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Certain polarization transponders hit and miss.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default Certain polarization transponders hit and miss.

    Hello I am currently having an issue where the transponders on H polarization is hit and miss for signal. The V ones are working just fine. Iam currently on Sat 91 and 82.

    Is it possible that the 8spk module board is on its way out? If so does anyone know where I can buy one without having to buy in bulk?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,036
    Satfix Buxs
    2,078,418,071,253
    Thanks
    11,561
    Thanked 17,912x in 7,207 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    sounds like dying lnb or power supply

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    ďAlways do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.Ē

  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dishuser For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Ah ok so the 8spk module wouldn't cause this? It's doing it in both sats

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,142
    Satfix Buxs
    1,314,506
    Thanks
    6,955
    Thanked 2,557x in 814 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    Take the HD module out (if possible) and see if it acts up on Sat. 91 SD channels

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,579
    Satfix Buxs
    2,086,694
    Thanks
    3,180
    Thanked 7,644x in 2,913 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    The "H" transponders are switched by a DC voltage from the receiver, you need at least +17 volts DC to switch to the horizontal transponders, that is if your using a standard LNB and not a Dish or Bell LNB.

    If the DC voltage at the LNB input is below 17 volts DC (not measured at the receiver) it won't switch or it may be flaky. (hit or miss)

    Standard DC switching voltage for "H" (horizontal) transponders on a standard or universal LNB is +18 volts DC plus or minus 1 volt.
    Standard DC switching voltage for "V" (vertical) transponders on a standard or universal LNB is +13 volts DC plus or minus 1 volt.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  8. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Would I need a board in place of where the 8spk goes or just leave it empty. I don't have the original board

    Quote Originally Posted by auggie View Post
    Take the HD module out (if possible) and see if it acts up on Sat. 91 SD channels

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Iam using original bev lnb. And it's flaky in and out. And it's doing it on both sats

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    The "H" transponders are switched by a DC voltage from the receiver, you need at least +17 volts DC to switch to the horizontal transponders, that is if your using a standard LNB and not a Dish or Bell LNB.

    If the DC voltage at the LNB input is below 17 volts DC (not measured at the receiver) it won't switch or it may be flaky. (hit or miss)

    Standard DC switching voltage for "H" (horizontal) transponders on a standard or universal LNB is +18 volts DC plus or minus 1 volt.
    Standard DC switching voltage for "V" (vertical) transponders on a standard or universal LNB is +13 volts DC plus or minus 1 volt.

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,579
    Satfix Buxs
    2,086,694
    Thanks
    3,180
    Thanked 7,644x in 2,913 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    A dual satellite LNB (two eyes or one big oval eye) or two individual LNB's?
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Two individual lnbs

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    A dual satellite LNB (two eyes or one big oval eye) or two individual LNB's?

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Ok so I tested both sats on separate lnbs direct line without a switch and still the same results. Wasn't able to get a signal or power to the lnb by taking out the 8spk module. So I put it back in. So it must be something with the viewsat itself.

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,579
    Satfix Buxs
    2,086,694
    Thanks
    3,180
    Thanked 7,644x in 2,913 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Did you get anything with the module back in place??

    If not then it looks like the internal power supply electrolytic caps in the receiver may have popped, if you have a digital volt meter (DVM) test the DC output at the LNB input at the receiver, if less then 13 volts then the problems may be inside the receiver.

    Disconnect it all and make sure it's unplugged from the AC power, then open it up and look for some small metal cans where the power coard comes into the box, the tops on the good ones will be nice and flat, if bulged up then they need replacing, this is not a job for someone that has never soldered on a circuit board.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  16. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    52
    Satfix Buxs
    560
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 27x in 7 Posts

    Default

    No still same issue. The curits look good none seemed popped or bulged

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Did you get anything with the module back in place??

    If not then it looks like the internal power supply electrolytic caps in the receiver may have popped, if you have a digital volt meter (DVM) test the DC output at the LNB input at the receiver, if less then 13 volts then the problems may be inside the receiver.

    Disconnect it all and make sure it's unplugged from the AC power, then open it up and look for some small metal cans where the power coard comes into the box, the tops on the good ones will be nice and flat, if bulged up then they need replacing, this is not a job for someone that has never soldered on a circuit board.

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,579
    Satfix Buxs
    2,086,694
    Thanks
    3,180
    Thanked 7,644x in 2,913 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Do you have a DVM??? Or can borrow one?? We need to see if there is DC voltage at the "F" connector on the LNB input, if nothing there then the receivers power supply is hosed.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  19. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    410
    Satfix Buxs
    76,180
    Thanks
    501
    Thanked 209x in 124 Posts
    Items Ribbon 3Crown RoyalGuitar2Wireless AccessEnglandMexicoUSACanada

    Default

    Check all connector and switch. How long is the cable run to the dish? Does sound like what Terryl is saying a polarity switching problem.

    All satellite/STB use 13/18VDC polarity switching. If the voltage is to low at LNB it wont get opposite polarity.

    Also what dishuser said it could be power supply acting up it could cause this, but I am leaning the way Terryl is.
    Last edited by jets; 11-07-2021 at 12:44 AM.

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to jets For This Useful Post:


  21. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    410
    Satfix Buxs
    76,180
    Thanks
    501
    Thanked 209x in 124 Posts
    Items Ribbon 3Crown RoyalGuitar2Wireless AccessEnglandMexicoUSACanada

    Default

    Doing it on both so not 8PSK.

    Quote Originally Posted by thegame20024 View Post
    Ah ok so the 8spk module wouldn't cause this? It's doing it in both sats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •