Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

Thread: HD8000 not turning on

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    5,067
    Satfix Buxs
    1,444,024
    Thanks
    17,686
    Thanked 21,005x in 4,495 Posts
    Items helicopter
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlJeep
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlCrown Royal
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirlSome beer
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 06:22 PM from orchidgirltreasure chest
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 05:52 PM from orchidgirl
Message: jejejeImmunity to Theft

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssj92 View Post
    I can't find my multimeter, need to keep looking. I could measure the voltage at 12v, 3.3v and 5v. Also can read capacitance.

    I was just wondering if this sounds like a power supply issue.

    To rebuild would it be better to replace all caps on 12v, 3.3v and 5v? Or is it normally just 5v and 3.3v that go bad?

    If all I need to do is remove a bunch of capacitors and solder new ones, I can do that. I message the eBay seller to see what they want to do first but otherwise it seems better to just repair this power supply.
    Caps are by far the easiest component to replace.Be aware of the values & polarity.You can go higher with working voltage (if there's room on the board) but not capacitance.I have done a dozen or so now & never had a repeat failure.Use the guide Auggie referenced & you will be fine.

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to The Noof For This Useful Post:


  3. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,532
    Satfix Buxs
    1,447,970
    Thanks
    10,220
    Thanked 3,745x in 1,156 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssj92 View Post
    I can't find my multimeter, need to keep looking. I could measure the voltage at 12v, 3.3v and 5v. Also can read capacitance.

    I was just wondering if this sounds like a power supply issue.

    To rebuild would it be better to replace all caps on 12v, 3.3v and 5v? Or is it normally just 5v and 3.3v that go bad?

    If all I need to do is remove a bunch of capacitors and solder new ones, I can do that. I message the eBay seller to see what they want to do first but otherwise it seems better to just repair this power supply.

    If you plan on Repairing the PSB/capacitors etc. one other thing you probably should do as well is Add "COOLING MEASURES"
    Heat is a Killer to these FTA Boxes & the Cheap Components that are installed, I got myself a set of USB Powered "Fans"
    that sit on top of my boxes sucking/blowing air in/out keeping them Nice & Cool.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    17
    Satfix Buxs
    1,904
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    I got a bunch of heatsinks and fans from all my PCs so I will add those once I fix the power supply.

    Just waiting on seller to see if they're willing to do partial refund or something and I'll buy a capacitor kit and get to work.

    I'll keep everyone updated, thanks for the help all.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    17
    Satfix Buxs
    1,904
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thought I'd provide an update. I replaced most of the capacitors, but I still had three 470uF ones left to replace and a few others. I think I replaced all the 3.3v & 5v ones.

    The receiver still doesn't work but it's in better shape than before. The power LED flashes faster now and I did see the blue "booting" text on the front display, then it turned off. Hopefully after the last few capacitors it'll be working.

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ssj92 For This Useful Post:


  8. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Moms House
    Posts
    93
    Satfix Buxs
    89
    Thanks
    398
    Thanked 98x in 36 Posts
    Items CatTVWireless AccessImmunity to TheftI-PhoneDish

    Default

    im thinking if you replace the last three it will boot right up. remove the HD module and see if that makes any difference

  9. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    17
    Satfix Buxs
    1,904
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Capacitors arrived today around 7pm so didn't have a chance to finish the job, hopefully tomorrow.

    Ironically, my 2nd HD8000 arrived (I ordered this a week ago when I was told I was going to have to ship back the broken hd8000 but it ended up in me getting a refund so now I have two).

    Only problem is, I don't have any remote for these. Is there no way to scan a sat without remote?

    If not does anyone have a spare remote?

  10. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,532
    Satfix Buxs
    1,447,970
    Thanks
    10,220
    Thanked 3,745x in 1,156 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    one of these will work if you can find one: hxxps://www.amazon.ae/Multi-Sat-Universal-Satellite-Sonicview-Captiveworks/dp/B00B6LJK08

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  12. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Moms House
    Posts
    93
    Satfix Buxs
    89
    Thanks
    398
    Thanked 98x in 36 Posts
    Items CatTVWireless AccessImmunity to TheftI-PhoneDish

    Default

    auggie those remotes are a good remote if you can find them that is. i prefer that remote over the normal one any day.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to intelpenny4 For This Useful Post:


  14. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    17
    Satfix Buxs
    1,904
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    It’s alive!!


  15. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ssj92 For This Useful Post:


  16. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Moms House
    Posts
    93
    Satfix Buxs
    89
    Thanks
    398
    Thanked 98x in 36 Posts
    Items CatTVWireless AccessImmunity to TheftI-PhoneDish

    Default

    i knew you could do it lol enjoy

  17. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    12,793
    Satfix Buxs
    2,273,135,239,273
    Thanks
    14,725
    Thanked 19,573x in 7,729 Posts
    Items DevilBeef
Gift received at 01-24-2014, 04:26 PM from swanner
Message: Thanks for Your Input, with all the Hot Heads around.. Should be cooked in No Time..LOLDish
Gift received at 12-15-2013, 09:10 PM from holly2012
Message: From an Old FriendDog
Gift received at 10-30-2013, 12:15 AM from Just_angel
Message: love chloe xoxoxWhiskey
Gift received at 03-27-2013, 03:33 PM from thebeav
Message: found this behind the dumpster at the casino when i was looking for W H :)Heart
Gift received at 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM from Just_angel
Message: x0x0A Beer
Gift received at 11-06-2012, 03:58 AM from Styx_N_Stones
Message: I seem to have accumulated too many beers... LOL!Crown Royal
Gift received at 10-11-2012, 03:49 PM from Just_angel

    Default

    I might still have a sv 360 elite remote
    can't remember if it worx on the 8000 though

    DODGE the father

    RAM the daughter



    “Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”

  18. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    17
    Satfix Buxs
    1,904
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Is this the correct remote? Listing said sv1000 but I’ve owned sv1000 before and it doesn’t have the black trim. Looks like hd8000 remote. Cant be 360 remote either since it doesn’t say 360 elite or premier.


  19. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Lost n Broken
    Posts
    627
    Satfix Buxs
    20,505
    Thanks
    4,052
    Thanked 1,218x in 351 Posts
    Items Vintage car
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlCash
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlHoho
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlCoke
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlPizza
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlBurger
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlBread box
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlTV
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirl

    Default

    If you want to see what the original remote looks like you could download the manual in the file section. Black and white but an image of the remote. There were some originals to be had years ago but they have since been bought up.

  20. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,532
    Satfix Buxs
    1,447,970
    Thanks
    10,220
    Thanked 3,745x in 1,156 Posts
    Items BurgerA Beertreasure chestPresentRainbowRepWireless AccessTreasure

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dishuser View Post
    I might still have a sv 360 elite remote
    can't remember if it worx on the 8000 though

    Has to be a 8000hd remote to work "ALL" the Functions etc.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to auggie For This Useful Post:


  22. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Lost n Broken
    Posts
    627
    Satfix Buxs
    20,505
    Thanks
    4,052
    Thanked 1,218x in 351 Posts
    Items Vintage car
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlCash
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlHoho
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlCoke
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlPizza
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlBurger
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlBread box
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirlTV
Gift received at 12-23-2019, 09:06 PM from orchidgirl

    Default

    Just because I tried one for the premier for a brief time and nothing seemed to function. One could navigate the menus with the front panel buttons. Problem from my read is moving down to the sat scan options in the dish setting menu. Need the use of the color coded buttons on the remote. Tried a few different ways with the buttons but came up empty for the short time I messed with it.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •