Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Canít find most linear satellites

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    2,126
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default Canít find most linear satellites

    So I have a directv slimline dish that I modified with a qph-031 lnb and have successfully found

    121w (75 Q)
    123w (40Q)
    129w (100 Q)
    119w (100 Q)
    110w (100 Q)
    77w (80 Q)

    However I cannot find 97w using this dish. I tried adjusting skew both ways to get the -28.5 lnb rotation. Even on 123w I cannot seem to get over 45 Q on tp 12008 but I also cannot get tp 12078 for kbs world.

    Is kbs world and tp 12078 still up? Any idea why I canít find 97w at all along with basically every other linear sat except 121w and 123w?

    My old place was 10 miles away and I had 97w using a directv worlddirect dish

    Iíll post a pic tomorrow. The dish is on the floor but has clear line of sight.
    Last edited by ssj92; 10-16-2022 at 04:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,762
    Satfix Buxs
    2,562,487
    Thanks
    3,399
    Thanked 8,132x in 3,075 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    How are you switching between the linear and circular outputs of the LNB to the receiver????
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    2,126
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    How are you switching between the linear and circular outputs of the LNB to the receiver????
    Had an old SW21 switch laying around. I checked satbeams and it says 27” recommended for 97w so I should at least get something on it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    132
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8x in 5 Posts

    Default

    You need a universal lnb set to 10600 if you are in the west cost I think you will not get 97
    but is nothing good on 97

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,762
    Satfix Buxs
    2,562,487
    Thanks
    3,399
    Thanked 8,132x in 3,075 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Javier, he is using a Invacom QPH-031 LNB, it has both linear and circular outputs, no need for a universal.

    And SSJ92 how do you have the switching setup in the satellites menus??

    And I don't think a SW-21 from Dish (if that's what your using) will work with an Invacom LNB, you may need a DiseqC switch.......DiseqC port 1 = circular, DiseqC port 2 = linear.
    Last edited by Terryl; 10-17-2022 at 12:59 AM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Terryl For This Useful Post:


  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    21
    Satfix Buxs
    2,126
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 17x in 7 Posts

    Default

    DEF57E65-DB75-4FEE-A2F6-AF0D7287061B.jpeg
    Quote Originally Posted by Terryl View Post
    Javier, he is using a Invacom QPH-031 LNB, it has both linear and circular outputs, no need for a universal.

    And SSJ92 how do you have the switching setup in the satellites menus??

    And I don't think a SW-21 from Dish (if that's what your using) will work with an Invacom LNB, you may need a DiseqC switch.......DiseqC port 1 = circular, DiseqC port 2 = linear.
    I have sat 1 plugged into the circular port on lnb
    Sat 2 plugged into the linear port on lnb

    On hd800p sw21 lnb1 for 129/119/110/77 all working
    SW21 lnb2 for 121/123 both working so I think the setup is working just canít find 97w for some reason. Also canít get tp12078 on 123w unless itís no longer up.

    I can try connecting the linear lnb directly to receiver and see if it helps. The dish being on the floor shouldnít make a difference right? I mean if I can get 77w at 26 elevation I should be able to get 97w at 39 elevation.
    Last edited by ssj92; 10-17-2022 at 01:18 AM.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8,762
    Satfix Buxs
    2,562,487
    Thanks
    3,399
    Thanked 8,132x in 3,075 Posts
    Items PhoneHeartVintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 09:06 AM from ICEMAN
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractor

    Default

    Yes try connecting the linear output directly to the receiver, and there are two outputs per polarity, so if one doesnt work try the other one.

    And you are using the correct LO frequency's right, one of the following.....10.750 GHz for the linear side (97W) and 11.250 for the circular side.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    12
    Satfix Buxs
    16
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7x in 3 Posts

    Default

    And I don't think a SW-21 from Dish (if that's what your using) will work with an Invacom LNB, you may need a DiseqC switch
    I have used two SW-21 switches for a few years with Invacom LNB. Had better response at a further distance for me using RG6 cable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •